Slideshow image
Mfg. of Water well Drilling Rigs, Dth Hammers and Button Bits...
Water Well Drilling Rigs, Dth Drilling Rigs, Rotary Drilling Rigs...
Blast hole Drills, Water Well Drilling Rig, Mud Pumps, Vertical Turbine Pumps...
klrsai deepagetechjcr

2012 Honorees

NGWA recognizes excellence in the groundwater industry by annually awarding those individuals and companies having made significant contributions to the industry. These awards represent the highest quality in standards and business practices. Award recipients are recognized for their contributions through service, innovation, research, safety, and projects of scientific and technological importance affecting the growth and well-being of the industry.

 Awards will be presented during the Keynote and Awards Ceremony at the 2012 NGWA Groundwater Expo and Annual Meeting, Wednesday, December 5, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. in Las Vegas.

To read more about this year’s recipients, click on the link to the person’s name in the descriptions below.

NGWA Awards of Excellence

Ross L. Oliver Award


Tom Downey, CWD/PI, Downey Drilling Inc., Lexington, Nebraska, is this year’s recipient of the Ross L. Oliver Award. Established in Oliver’s honor by his family, this award is presented to a member who has made outstanding contributions to the groundwater industry.

M. King Hubbert Award
Brian Berkowitz, Ph.D., Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel, is this year’s recipient of the M. King Hubbert Award, presented to a person who has made major science or engineering contributions to the knowledge of groundwater through research, technical papers, teaching, and practical applications.
Robert Storm Award
Robert Storm Award
John W. Henrich, MGWC, CVCLD, Bergerson-Caswell Inc., Maple Plain, Minnesota, is the recipient of this year’s Robert Storm Interdivisional Cooperation Award. This award is presented to a person or team who through their activities or written works contribute to promoting collaboration, enhancing cooperation, and fostering community along all groundwater professionals and to advancing the mutual interests of all those interested in communicating the importance of the Earth’s water resources.
Life Member Awards

The Life Member Award is presented to retired NGWA members or members of retirement age who have contributed a special service in the furtherance of the groundwater industry or to NGWA.

William "Bill" M. Alley, Ph.D., U.S. Geological Survey, retired, San Diego, California.
Leroy Goodson, Texas Ground Water Association, Austin, Texas
Beverly L. Herzog, CGWP, Illinois State Geological Survey, retired,Champaign, Illinois
Thomas E. Reilly, Ph.D., U.S. Geological Survey, Reston, Virginia
Jose Joel Carrillo Rivera, Ph.D., University of Mexico, Colonia Napoles, Mexico
Honorary Member Award
Jane Wittke, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana Regional Council of Governments, Cincinnati, Ohio, will receive the 2012 Honorary Member Award, presented to persons of eminence from outside the groundwater industry who have contributed a special service to the industry or to NGWA.
Technology Award
Ray Roussy, PE, Sonic Drill Corp./Sonic Drilling Ltd., Surrey, British Columbia, Canada, will receive the 2012 Technology Award, presented to a person who has made major contributions to the groundwater industry in the development of ideas, tools, and equipment; techniques of well construction; exemplary service to coworkers through the industry in sharing these developments; or performing services for the protection of the groundwater resource and the consuming public.
Individual Safety Advocate Award
Jim Wright, National Exploration, Wells and Pumps, Shawnee, Kansas, is this year’s recipient of the Individual Safety Advocate Award. This award recognizes a person who has made significant contributions to promoting, improving, maintaining, and enhancing safety in daily working operations.
Special Recognition Awards
The Special Recognition Award is presented to an individual or organization that demonstrates dedication, service, and commitment to the groundwater industry and community through involvement and achievement on a local or regional level.
Water Replenishment District of Southern California, Lakewood, California.
Stephen Baker, Operation Unite® Water Alliance, Nevada City, California.
Standard Bearer Award
Scott Fowler, CWD/PI, Dahlman Pump & Well Drilling Inc., Burlington, Washington, will receive the 2012 Standard Bearer Award, presented to outstanding volunteers involved in the legislative process on behalf of NGWA and its initiatives.
Groundwater Protector
U.S. Representative Betty McCollum (D-Minnesota) received the 2012 Groundwater Protector Award, which recognizes outstanding public service in conjunction with groundwater conservation, protection, and use. (Please note that the Groundwater Protector Award was presented at the 2012 NGWA Washington Fly-in.)
Outstanding Groundwater Project Awards
NGWA Outstanding Groundwater Project Awards recognize member innovation and contributions affecting groundwater supply, protection, and remediation.
Groundwater Protection
Mesa Water District (California) will receive the Outstanding Groundwater Project Award–Protection for their innovations and advancements in the Colored Water Treatment Facility Technology Replacement and Expansion Project. This award demonstrates a unique and innovative solution in protecting groundwater from overdraft and contamination.
Groundwater Remediation
ARCADIS will receive the Outstanding Groundwater Project Award–Remediation for their innovations and advancements in the Advanced Water Treatment Research Program for Hexavalent Chromium in Drinking Water. This award demonstrates excellence in restoring contaminated groundwater or overdrafted groundwater resources.
Divisional Awards
John Hem Award for Excellence in Science & Engineering
Paul Hsieh, Ph.D., U.S. Geological Survey, Menlo Park, California, will receive the 2012 John Hem Award for Excellence in Science & Engineering. This award is presented by the Scientists and Engineers Division in recognition of significant, recent (within five years) scientific or engineering contributions to the understanding of groundwater. The award is presented annually for significant contributions from either a single publication or a body of works.
Keith E. Anderson Award
John Jansen, Ph.D., PG, PGP, Cardno ENTRIX, West Bend, Wisconsin, will receive the 2012 Keith E. Anderson Award, presented by the Scientists and Engineers Division in recognition of outstanding contributions to the Association.
Manufacturer's Division Special Recognition Award
George Simas, Flexcon Industries, Randolph, Massachusetts, will receive the 2012 Manufacturer's Division Special Recognition Award, which is given annually by the Manufacturers Division to honor an individual’s accomplishments in the groundwater manufacturing industry including, but not limited to, industry improvements, special education contributions, and patents and technology.
Supplier of the Year Award
Greg Esborg, Preferred Pump & Equipment LP, Tacoma, Washington, will receive the 2012 Supplier of the Year Award, presented by the Suppliers Division in recognition of outstanding contributions to the Association.
Drilling Today Contact